Tags

, ,

Sunday, June 24, 2012:

Wow. Been almost two months since I was here. Doesn’t seem that long…

Here’s the deal. Been suffering a bit from taking this way too seriously, half iron burn out. Had a little meltdown. Combine that with work travel and full-on track mom duties, it’s an ugly scene. For a Type A, it’s hard to admit one can’t do it all. And do it well.

But I wasn’t. Yes, I was getting through my training but more and more the joy was dissipating. I couldn’t slack it off; I had a major race coming up. I just wasn’t loving it. Not even liking it.

Had my little training meltdown. Thank goodness I have a great coach. He told me I was taking it way too seriously. Reminded this is my hobby. I am a mother, an employee. Tri is supposed to be fun. He told me to take time off, reset my head. I took a week. It was just what I needed.

For the first time in 18 months, I enjoyed running again. I no longer felt the pressure of running a fast pace, the pressure of the clock. I was happy to just be running… I had completed 5 halves, multiple 5ks and 3 Tris last year. This year have been training since January 1 for this half iron. That’s a lot of running to do without joy.

Ten days strong without one day of not wanting to. I’m back. I’m truly back…

